For fans of: Nirvana, Dinosaur Jr, Pinkerton-era Weezer, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Screaming Females

Last year, I wrote a very short intro to Brooklyn-based grunge trio Slothrust, and their untitled-at-the-time album made the list of albums we’re looking forward to in 2014.  One day after we posted that list, Slothrust announced they would be releasing Of Course You Do on Ba Da Bing! Records on February 18th. Slothrust are vocalist and guitarist Leah Wellbaum, bassist, Kyle Bann, and drummer Will Gorin. Are all blues and jazz graduates from Sarah Lawrence College in Westchester, NY. Over the last few months, Slothrust have become one of my most listened-to bands.  Their unique blend of grunge, punk, blues, and jazz has just been that perfect blend of styles I didn’t even know I needed, but I am quite thankful I found it.

When I first wrote about Slothrust, I brought up that they reminded me of Nirvana and Dinosaur Jr, but on top of that, I feel like Of Course You Do reminds me of one of my all-time favorite records, Weezer’s Pinkerton.  Like Rivers Cuomo on Pinkerton, Leah Wellbaum’s lyrics are witty, intelligent, and a bit eccentric. They reference relationships, human connection, anxiety, and even classic literature. The album title comes from a line that will probably end up being my favorite line of the year, “I like cats, do you like cats? of course you do, you sassy motherfucker” in the song “Crockpot”.

The members of Slothrust are quite versatile musicians; being classically trained, and also in a grunge/punk band. The versatility really shows during the two-part song, “Magnets”, which starts out with just guitar, before kicking into gear, the beginning of “Magnets Part 2” features some acoustic guitar until it, too kicks into gear in epic fashion, with an explosion of sound with horns, guitar, and Wellbaum screaming, before coming back to where it started with Wellbaum singing over acoustic guitar.

If you checked out Slothrust when I posted about them, you’ll notice some familiar songs. Of Course You Do features three songs that were released on their earlier record, Feels Your Pain. “7:30 AM”,  and “The Couch Incident” appeared on Feels Your Pain, but were remastered for the new album, and sound great. An extra layer of reverb was added onto Wellbaum’s vocals and the mixing gives the songs some new life. “No Eye Candy” also appeared on Feels Your Pain, and was completely re-recorded for Of Course You Do, with added organ and a more intense and epic feel to it.

The album is awesome, and I have to thank Ba Da Bing! for letting me check it out early.  Wellbaum, Bann, and Gorin are three immensely talented musicians making some really interesting music. When this album releases on February 18th, I recommend checking it out.  Until then, you can pre-order it here, and check out some of the tracks below.

Crockpot (Official Video)

7:30 AM:

The Couch Incident:


1.   Cubicle

2.   Juice

3.   Crockpot

4.   7:30 AM

5.   Homewreck Wifey

6.   Magnets Pt. 1

7.   Magnets Pt. 2

8.   No Eye Candy

9.   The Couch Incident

10. Beowulf

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...