With the new year three weeks old, the avalanche of new music has commenced, so we have a slightly longer playlist this week. You’ll find everything from R&B to electronic to indie pop to indie rock to scuzz rock. Some of the artists are well-known and others still developing a following. Either way, we highly recommend that you check these artists out and give them your support.

  • “Tennessee”, a lovely little folk-ish tune from Rochester, New York duo Band of Lovers, whose debut album comes out on Valentine’s Day. It’s kind of a cheerier She & Him.
  • “Hundred Years” is a lush, chillwave, electronic track from lunokhod, who are two guys from Italy and Belgium and have taken their name from the  series of Soviet robotic lunar rovers built in the ’60s for the purpose of exploring Mars.
  • “Real Love” is a remix of the Clean Bandit and Jess Glynne hit done by electronic producers The Chainsmokers . We don’t know much about Alex and Drew, but we know they’re immensely popular in large part to their “#SELFIE” song and we’ve been told they’re cool guys (actually, they are real cool guys). While they have produced music that’s meant to be dance to will into the wee hours of the morning, they’ve also plied their craft to create a rawer, more genuine sound, like they have done on this remix.
  • “The Last One” is a delightful, ’80s-esque pop tune produced by Guiville and features young UK band Bentcousin. This was released about three months ago, but better late than never.
  • “Bad Believer”, the edgy new single from St. Vincent, and the single will be included as part of an extended edition of her critically acclaimed, self-titled album from 2014.
  • “Window”, an indie track with R&B grooves from Detroit duo Gosh Pith. The track shares similarities with Winnipeg’s Royal Canoe and Brooklyn’s Wet, using synths to create a sullen mood. The track chills the bones yet at the same time will have you bobbing your head.
  • “Pacify” from Jackson Scott is a gem of a psychedelic, scuzz rock. His debut album, Sunshine Redux, comes out April 28 on Bloodmoss Records.
  • “Again” is a catchy and at times sultry, jangle-pop tune from Edmonton’s Jessica Jalbert – a.k.a. Faith Healer – and her debut album, Cosmic Troubles, comes out March 31 on Mint Records.
  • “Scene Sick” is actually a summery indie-pop-rock tune from newcomers Diet Cig, who recently signed with Father/Daughter Records.
  • “I Don’t Want to Let You Down”, a new track from one of our favourite indie rock singer-songwriters, Sharon Van Etten. It’s the first single of a new EP she will release in the spring on Jagjaguwar.
  • “Cool Down” from Palmedo, the Gainesville, Florida duo comprising of Delia Albert and Tim Plakon, is a stunning, R&B track in the mold of Jessie Ware, and this song could have the duo achieving stardom in the very near future.
  • “Wild Thing”, an awesome psychedelic pop-rock track from Orlando quartet Sabals. It has not one but two climaxes, and the track is deliriously infectious. The song mixes the haunting allure of Widowspeak, the heart-pounding sounds of She Keeps Bees, and the euphoria of Veronica Falls . Sabals have signed with Eye Four Records.
  • “Down for Whatever”, a delicious dream-pop song from LA-based singer-songwriter Chelsea Lankes.
  • “Paying”, the wonderful, stunning, gorgeous, and crushing first single from San Francisco singer-songwriter Sarah Bethe Nelson‘s debut album, Fast Moving Clouds, which comes out March 10 on Burger Records. There really isn’t a single adjective to describe this beautiful, heartbreaking track.

Happy Weekend


Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...