Here’s the final addition of The Matinee for the week. Don’t forget to look out for tomorrow’s Weekend Showcase, which will compile the entire week’s The Matinee features. For the first three, click on the links below:


MIYNT – “Civil War”

Last month, Wendy shared MINYT‘s cover of Britney Spears’ “Baby One More Time”, which introduced us to the Stockholm singer’s stunning electro-pop. This week, she released her latest single, “Civil War”. Like the cover, it’s a gorgeous track highlighted by MINYT’s lithe voice. Think Grimes smooth electronics meeting the personal lyrics and sultry voice of Lana Del Rey.

“Civil War” will be part of a split 7″ to be released on release August 21 via B3SCI Records. The other single is “Nick Drake”. Pre-order the 7″ here.

Website   Facebook   Twitter   Instagram


Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats – “Look It Here”

In 2010, Colorado native Nathaniel Rateliff released In Memory Loss, a critically acclaimed that saw Rateliff and his backing band the Night Sweats be invited to play in festivals across North America. Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats are now set to release their debut full-length album, and they’ve teamed up with producer Richard Swift to create a more expansive sound made for live audiences. The latest single, “Look It Here”, is a jumping, euphoric track that is one part Preservation Jazz Hall and one part Langhorne Slim. From some of the earlier releases, Nathaniel Rateliff & The Night Sweats will be a combination of folk, jazz, blues, and even a bit of soul. This should be one heck of an album.

The self-titled debut album will be released by Stax Records and comes out August 21. Pre-order the album at iTunes and Amazon.

The Night Sweats are Joseph Pope III, Patrick Meese, Mark Shusterman, Luke Mossman, Leah Concialdi, Andy Wild, and Wesley Watkins.

Rateliff and The Night Sweats are heading out on a tour. You can find dates here.

Website   Facebook   Twitter


Ultimate Painting – “(I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues”

Ultimate Painting caught our attention last year when they released their self-titled debut in October. Comprised of Jack Cooper of Mazes and James Hoare of Veronica Falls, the duo are already back and set to release their new album, Green Lanes. The second single from the album is “(I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues”, which retains the ’60s, acoustic, psych-pop sound. As has been the trademark of the band, the guitar riffs and bass lines are clean, the percussion work precise, and the harmonies unassumingly terrific. Taken together, this jitterbug of a tune is catchy and a delight to listen.

It’s worth sharing Jack Cooper’s remarks about the album to understand its meaning. Green Lanes, comes out August 7th via Trouble In Mind. Pre-order it at the label’s store, iTunes, and Amazon.

“(I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues” according to Jack Cooper:

“The Conservative government that we’ve had in the UK for the last 5 years have been particularly hard and cruel on the less fortunate members of society. Someone who’s found themselves unemployed has to jump through a variety of hoops to receive a jobseeker’s allowance; a paltry amount of money to help support themselves… If you’re late for your meeting or you fuck up some paperwork, they slap you with a sanction and the tiny amount of money you’re getting by on gets taken away. It’s straight out of Catch 22. ‘(I’ve Got The) Sanctioned Blues’ is us trying to make sense of that. Songs that borrow the imagery and rhythms of the railway are as old as the railways themselves… We didn’t really set out to fit in with that tradition but I suppose that’s where it’s at.”



BECOME X XYLØ – “Between the Devil & The Deep Blue Sea”

Most of the submissions we get are from artists and bands, and it’s easy to describe who they are, their history, etc. BECOME isn’t exactly an artist or a band. Instead, it’s a loose community of artists from around the world who get together and collaborate on a number of singles, focused on urban and club music but also electro-pop. One of the collaborations is with XYLØ, the LA-based electro-pop duo. With its groovy beats and bass line interlaced with a Caribbean vibe,  “Between the Devil & The Deep Blue Sea” is a lush and smooth number made for swaying with friends on the beach.

If you’re interested, BECOME’s origins actually are from a collective called EXGF, which originally formed in Paris when a group of like-minded artists would get together and create music. After some moved back to LA, they formalized the community, whose members now are over 100 and with musicians in Hong Kong and New York City. EXGF is mostly focused on creating epic pop songs. BECOME, which is an extension or subsidiary, gravitates to electronic and ambient sounds.

BECOME:  Website   Facebook   Twitter   Instagram

XYLØ:  Website  Facebook  Twitter  Instagram


YOUNG SPINES – “Until Now”

Back in April, we featured a new artist named Young Spines. The project of Ottawa-born, New Jersey resident Harry Tucker, Young Spines creates music that he classifies as “hypnofolk”. It’s much more than that, however. As heard on his new single, “Until Now”, Tucker’s music weaves together electronic, ambient, and Middle Eastern textures to create some stirring and definitely hypnotic music. Imagine Yeasayer filtered through autotune and the Middle Eastern textures amped up several degrees. Tucker is a young artist to watch because he’s creating something innovative yet fascinating.

Facebook   Twitter


Escapists – “Eat You Alive”

Across the pond, London indie band Escapists are getting ready to release their new single, “Eat You Alive”. With a driving melody and the quick pace led by shimmering rhythm guitar, the track has a relentless energy and infectious quality that can only spur one thing – for one to dance. The blasting indie rock sound of Escapists is part of a re-conceptualization of new wave that has been seeping out of the UK for the past two years. Bands like Sundara Karma and Fairchild are helping to elevate the genre, and Escapists with “Eat You Alive” is taking it to new heights.

Website   Facebook   Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...