Happy Monday! It’s time for our weekly Matinee with 6 new tracks for your listening pleasure. Today we have half of the tracks from the UK and half from the US.

Aloric – “Who?”

Not a whole lot is known about London group Aloric. “Who?” is their debut track and it’s filled with great ambient and experimental textures. Just when you think you might be listening to a punk inspired track, it changes and twists into a piano laden chorus with vocals reminiscent of Rhye.

Their Facebook page only lists L for vocals and M for guitar, keys. There is also a tease on their page about an upcoming video. With their first track release of “Who?” we are intrigued and listening. We will be looking forward to more from Aloric.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Blossoms – “Blown Rose”

Blossoms consider themselves ethereal nostalgic sonance on their Facebook page and that’s actually a pretty great description. Blossoms is a five piece formed in 2013 and comprised of Tom Ogden (vocals/guitar), Charlie Salt (Bass/BV’s), Josh Dewhurst (lead guitar/auxiliary percussion), Joe Donovan (drums) and Myles Kellock (keyboards, BV’s). The UK quintet recently released the single “Blown Rose” along with a video and it’s a lovely brit pop track with a bit of 60s throwback woven in between.

The single is also the title of their newest EP. You can purchase the Blown Rose EP here. They also have an upcoming UK tour in October. You can check out the dates here.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

 DANTE ELEPHANTE – “Never Trust A Junkie”

CA based Dante Elephante have a new track “Never Trust a Junkie” from their upcoming album release Anglo Saxon Summer which will be out October 2 on Lolipop records. “Never Trust a Junkie” has that CA garage-surf vibe with obvious punk influences.

For their upcoming release, they had the help of producer Jonathan Rado (one half of Foxygen), who helped hone Dante Elephante’s sound for their upcoming release. Dante Elephante is comprised of Ruben Zarate, Kevin Boutin, Tommy Devoy and Chris Lopez.

Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Funeral Advantage – “Sisters”

Funeral Advantage is really Tyler Kershaw who writes and records everything himself. He released a few demos back in 2013 and now has an upcoming full length album coming out August 28th titled Body Is Dead  with The Native Sound. You can pre-order the album here.

The track “Sisters” is full of dreamy pop goodness and sounds like the album will be similar as the other single “Gardensong”  is just as dreamy with a bit of shoegaze mixed in. The Boston, MA native also has an upcoming tour to support the new album with dates listed on their Facebook page.

Facebook | Twitter

 MOATS – “You Make Wet Sundays Alright”

MOATS is a band we profiled and did a quick Q&A with last fall and we have been patiently awaiting their newest EP release. Since we are still patiently waiting, here is their newest track to tide us over until that time titled “You Make Wet Sundays Alright“. This track takes more of a stripped back sound compared to some of their other releases but it showcases singer Matt’s lovely voice well and the fact that they can write a pretty good love song.

We really, really hope that the UK based foursome will have some new tunes for our ears pretty soon. If you are not familiar with this band, get to know them as we have a feeling they will be going places very soon.

Facebook | Twitter

Small Black – “Boys Life”

Small Black is back with a new single and an upcoming release. If you never got hooked on their last album Limits of Desire, this is a Brooklyn based band you need to know. “Boys Life” is a great laid back track with dreamy harmonies placed against expertly layered beats. The track is from their forthcoming release Best Blues which will be out October 16th on Jagjaguwar.

Small Black is comprised of Josh Kolenik (keys, vocals), Ryan Heyner (guitar, keys, vocals), Juan Pieczanski (bass, guitar) and Jeff Curtin (drums). We really look forward to hearing the new album which can be pre-ordered here. The band is also touring later this year to support the album release. You can check out tour dates here.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Share This Article On...


Follow The Revue On...