Music, Singles, The Revue — September 2, 2015 at 7:50 am

The Matinee September 2


Happy Wednesday. Here is The Matinee for September 2. Today’s humpday playlist includes a strong showing from Australia with half of the bands from there, two from the US on one from the UK. The tracks from today span rock, psych, shoegaze and synth pop.


Controller (USA) – “Midnight Man”

Controller’s Facebook page says they play catchy music to dance and drink to. That is a pretty good description. The Brooklyn-based rock band is comprised of Keith, Brian, Josh, Kyle and Jonathan. The 80s-inspired dance-pop track really does compel you to get on a dance floor somewhere even though the protagonist is a douche that is only about one night stands and has a dislike for children. (Hopefully this person never actually gets the midnight hookup he desperately wants). Regardless, it’s a super upbeat track and has a great addition of the saxophone toward the end.

“Midnight Man” is the third single from their highly anticipated sophomore release, the No Future EP.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


Crayon Fields (Australia) – “Love Won’t Save You”

Crayon Fields is a Melbourne-based band that is creating some pretty great synth-laden pop-rock. “Love Won’t Save You” is a surprisingly upbeat track even though the lyrical subject matter is not that hopeful. The song does remind of early great 80s synth bands like New Order but with a 50s era guitar riff throwback.

Crayon Fields is comprised of Geoffrey O’Connor, Neil Erenstrom, Brett Hudson and Chris Hung. “Love Won’t Save You” is the second single off of their upcoming album, No One Deserves You which will be out September 25 on vinyl, CD and digital by Chapter Music. You can pre-order the album here.

Website | Facebook | Twitter


Keep Breathing (UK) – “Weather Warning”

Keep Breathing fuse the moody epic swagger of Echo and the Bunnymen with the anthemic melodies of Elbow. They have released the single “Weather Warning” on their soundcloud page but will be available October 30th. The single was produced by Ed Buller (Suede, Pulp, White Lies).

“Weather Warning” is part anthemic rock, yet includes layers of psych reminiscent of Temples and enough reverb to add in shoegaze as well. We will be looking forward to new material from Keep Breathing. The band is comprised of Liam Milne – Guitar / Vocals, Jack Healy – Guitars, Dale Knight – Synth / Keys, Thom Lewis – Bass, Alex Cook – Drums / Vocals.

Website | Facebook | Twitter


Lowtide (Australia) – “Julia”

Lowtide are a shoegaze/dreamy pop band from Melbourne, Australia. They released their self titled LP last year, and now have a new single. “Julia” is a lush and dreamy track that will leave you wanting to sing “Julia” in your head after listening. With just the perfect amount of reverb that doesn’t steal away too much from the vocals, this track is shoegaze perfected.

Lowtide is comprised of Giles Simon, Lucy Buckeridge, Gabriel Lewis and Anton Jakovljevic. You can order the Julia/Spring 7″ vinyl on their Bandcamp page.

Website | Facebook | Twitter


RKCB (USA) – “Daydreaming”

RKCB are back with another impressive electro pop track, “Daydreaming”. We previously shared “Ignite” back in July.

RKCB is an LA-based electronic duo comprised of Riley Knapp and Casey Barth. The two musicians got together to fuse their diverse layers of electronic music. Both “Ignite” and the new track “Daydreaming” will be included on their upcoming debut EP which should be out later this fall.

“Daydreaming” is a super laid back track and is perfect to turn on when you just want to chill and unwind. We also got a little background from the duo about the song. “Daydreaming is a fantasy about someone who’s always been just out of reach. We wanted to express the personal bond between tension and ecstasy”.

YouTube | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


The Wheelers of Oz (Australia) – “La Petite Mort”

The Wheelers of Oz are a psych-inspired rock band from Perth, and they are creating some awesome tunes definitely worth sharing. “La Petite Mort” is off of their debut album, Revivalised which was released last month. The eight-track album is definitely noteworthy, but we are sharing the stand out single from the album.

The Wheelers of Oz is comprised of Sam Eastcott, Alex Halsey, Tom Cahill, Angus Mcbride, Jordan Zu, Steve Baily and Glen Palmer. You can purchase their album on Bandcamp.

Website | Facebook

Share This Article On...


Follow The Revue On...


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.