[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/204578325″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”125″ iframe=”true” /]

There is still a place for simplicity in the vast expanse that is today’s music industry. Simplicity in the sense that music can still stir our emotions with the use of traditional instruments and a tried-and-true formula of poignant storytelling, soothing melodies, and a tantalizing voice. This simplicity is what has resulted in Wild Child slowly winning over more and more fans for the past few years and has made them one of indie music’s small success stories. Their latest album, Fools, doesn’t buzz with synths or electronic over dubs, but instead it’s just classic folk-pop music that warms the soul and leaves a lasting impression.

It all begins with the collective musicianship of each of the band’s six members. From the classical band instruments – guitar, drums, keyboards, bass – to the truly “classical” – violin, cello, and ukelele – the Austin-based band are able to move fluidly from sounding like a small orchestra to a rockabilly, bar-room band. The lead vocals provided usually by Kelsey Wilson and with frequent support from Alexander Beggins are sublime, and it is Wilson’s range that enables Wild Child to tackle a few genres. Their music touches on everything from indie-rock to indie-folk to pop-infused folk.

The title track exemplifies this complete package. The music and vocals ebb and flow like a folk-pop symphony – stirring, tantalizing, and even a touch anti-climatic. “Take It”, meanwhile, exhibits the band’s versatility. The song has a smokey, sultry vibe, where Wilson’s voice carries the song and is complemented by lovely strings. The track is reminiscent of the balladry and engaging folk-pop of Lake Street Dive“Bad Girl”, on other other, is an upbeat number echoing of the rockabilly sound of the ’50s and ’60s. Grab a partner and do a jive to this tune.

Most of the album, though, is focused on soft, melodic folk-pop numbers – songs that have you gently swaying from side-to-side and humming to the melody. “Bullets” is one of the star attractions and, as Hollie described it back in August, never has a break-up song sounded so good. “Break Bones” adopts a more bluesy and groovy approach. Like “Take It”, Wilson’s voice is smooth and sultry while the tickling of the keys adds a fantastic touch of drama. But where the band takes it to another level is the gorgeous “The Cracks”. The song ascends to dreamy heights with the humming of the strings, Wilson’s voice taking on an angelic quality, and the plucks of the ukelele and bass and taps of the drums providing the palette for it all. If there is another song about letting someone go that sounded as breathtaking as this one, I have yet to hear it. The song – the album – is another reason why more people should get on Wild Child’s bandwagon, a collective on the edge of bigger and brighter things.

You can witness for yourself the hype around Wild Child, who are currently on tour. Dates are below.

Wild Child are Alexander Beggins (vocals, baritone ukulele); Kelsey Wilson (vocals, violin); Evan Magers (keyboards); Drew Brunetti (drums); Sadie Wolfe (cello); and Chris D’Annunzio (bass).

Fools is out now via Dualtone Music Group, the same label that has released the latest albums by Shakey Graves, Noah Gundersen, and Langhorne Slim & The Laws. Purchase Fools at the label’s online store, iTunes, and Amazon.

Website – wildchildsounds.com
Facebook – Wild Child
Twitter – @wildchildsounds
Instagram – @wildchildsounds

[soundcloud url=”https://api.soundcloud.com/tracks/204578317″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”125″ iframe=”true” /]

Wild Child - Fools

Wild Child Tour Dates

Tue Oct 13 The Catalyst

Santa Cruz, CA

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Thu Oct 15 WOW Hall

Eugene, OR

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Fri Oct 16 Revolution Hall

Portland, OR

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Sat Oct 17 The Crocodile

Seattle, WA

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Sun Oct 18 The Media Club

Vancouver, BC

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Tue Oct 20 Top Hat Lounge

Missoula, MT

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Wed Oct 21 Neurolux Lounge

Boise, ID

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Sat Oct 24 Gothic Theatre

Englewood, CO

with Max Frost

Buy Tickets
Mon Oct 26 The Record Bar

Kansas City, MO

Buy Tickets
Tue Oct 27 Firebird

St. Louis, MO

Buy Tickets
Wed Oct 28 Majestic Theatre

Madison, WI

with Elliot Moss

Buy Tickets
Thu Oct 29 Triple Rock

Minneapolis, MN

with Elliot Moss

Buy Tickets
Fri Oct 30 Thalia Hall

Chicago, IL

with Elliot Moss

Buy Tickets
Sat Oct 31 The Ark

Ann Arbor, MI

with Elliot Moss

Buy Tickets
Sun Nov 1 A&R Music Bar

Columbus, OH

with Elliot Moss

Buy Tickets
Tue Nov 3 Lee’s Palace

Toronto, ON

with Elliot Moss

Buy Tickets
Wed Nov 4 La Sala Rossa

Montreal, QC

with Elliot Moss

Buy Tickets
Thu Nov 5 Higher Ground Ballroom

South Burlington, VT

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Fri Nov 6 Port City Music Hall

Portland, ME

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Sat Nov 7 Royale

Boston, MA

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Sun Nov 8 Pearl Street Nightclub

Northampton, MA

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Wed Nov 11 Bowery Ballroom

New York, NY

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Thu Nov 12 Music Hall of Williamsburg

Brooklyn, NY

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Fri Nov 13 9:30 Club

Washington, DC

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Sat Nov 14 Union Transfer

Philadelphia, PA

with Royal Canoe

Buy Tickets
Wed Nov 18 Jefferson Theater

Charlottesville, VA

with Shakey Graves

Buy Tickets
Thu Nov 19 Cannery Ballroom

Nashville, TN

w/ Shakey Graves

Buy Tickets
Fri Nov 20 Bijou Theatre

Knoxville, TN

with Shakey Graves

Buy Tickets
Sat Nov 21 The Orange Peel

Asheville, NC

with Shakey Graves

Buy Tickets
Sun Nov 22 Variety Playhouse

Atlanta, GA

with Shakey Graves

Buy Tickets
Mon Nov 23 Workplay Theatre

Birmingham, AL

with Shakey Graves

Buy Tickets
Tue Nov 24 The Civic Theatre

New Orleans, LA

with Shakey Graves

Buy Tickets
Sat Nov 28 Stubb’s

Austin, TX

Buy Tickets
Thu Dec 10 Fitzgerald’s Houston – Upstairs

Houston, TX

Buy Tickets
Fri Dec 11 Trees

Dallas, TX

Buy Tickets
Sat Dec 12 Paper Tiger

San Antonio, TX

Buy Tickets

Share This Article On...

FacebooktwitterredditpinteresttumblrFacebooktwitterredditpinteresttumblr

Follow The Revue On...

FacebooktwitteryoutubetumblrinstagramFacebooktwitteryoutubetumblrinstagram