Singles, The Revue — October 30, 2015 at 10:17 am

The Matinee October 30


The Matinee October 30 is here. It’s Friday and we have our last playlist of the week for you. We hope everyone has a safe and happy Halloween weekend. Today we have six tracks mostly from the US, one from Sweden and another from Italy. We have some garage rock, singer-songwriter fare, synthpop, indie rock and shoegaze for you today.

The Brainstems – “Redline” (USA)

The Brainstems are from St. Louis and they just released a new single titled “Redline” which is a short yet politically-charged punk tune about their hometown and the recent events in Ferguson. The Brainstems also have their debut LP, No Place Else coming out November 27th on Bad Diet Records. The Brainstems are Sam Clapp (vocals, guitar, bass), Sean Cotton (vocals, guitar, bass), Kenny Hofmeister (drums) and Andrew Warshauer, (vocals, bass, guitar). We look forward to their upcoming release.

Facebook | Twitter

Francis – “Follow Me Home” (Sweden)

“Follow Me Home” is the first single from Francis’ upcoming international debut LP Marathon which will be released via Strangers Candy on February 5th, 2016. Francis was originally formed back in 2006 as a punk-y interpretation of American folk (think a mixture of Tom Waits and Patti Smith), out of the local DIY scene in their hometown of Mora, in the Dalarna region of Sweden. Now based in Falun, only vocalist Petra Mases and drummer Petter Nygårdh remains from the early days, later joined by guitarist Jerker Krumlinde, bassist Paulina Mellkvist and Oskar Bond on keyboard. Their new track is an awesome mix of laid back rock and folk which commands our attention. The band shares a bit about the upcoming album..

“Every song is basically about children, divorce or love. But there is also a political side of it. We are all affected by the xenophobia that is going on in Europe. The title track, “Marathon,” is about red hearts, wanting to fight for something and naively hoping for something better. Hope for future generation’s benevolence to continue to fight for justice and gender equality. And love, simply, or lack thereof, and the frustration that comes with it.”

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

KAPTAN – “Let Go” (USA)

KAPTAN is back with another awesome track. KAPTAN which is the solo project of Andrew de Torres. The Nashville based artist is creating indie-pop at it’s finest. “Let Go” is a really awesome and upbeat love song. We also have a nice descriptions regarding the song. “Let Go is one of those songs that came out of nowhere. I was sitting at home, playing around on the guitar and thinking about how lucky I am to have found this incredible person to share my life with.  Like so many people, I’ve been through plenty of crappy relationships, heart break and tragedies. I wanted to write something that represented how much better life can be with a lovely person by your side.” – KAPTAN

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Kuroma – “20+Centuries” (USA)

Kuroma is a New York based band and they have just released their 20+Centuries EP which is out today via Votiv Music. This EP is following the release of their latest full-length Kuromarama Their style is some awesome pop-punk and 20+Centuries puts you in a great mood. Kuroma is comprised of Hank Sullivant
James Richardson, Simon O’Connor,  and William Berman.

Facebook | Twitter

Golden Age  – “High Noon” (USA)

Golden Age formed in the winter of 2014. The New York trio set out to create celestial baroque-pop, both futuristic and nostalgic. Over cinematic synths and dreamy guitar, Sydney Sahr’s voice touches a nerve of dark romance. Their first EP will be released in the fall of 2015. “High Noon” is an enchanting track which keeps you hanging on every lyric. Sahr’s voice brings an ethereal quality to the trio’s sound. We are sure we will hear more from Golden Age, they have already had several songs placed in recent TV shows including Grey’s Anatomy.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Stella Diana – “Shohet” (Italy)

“Shohet” is blissful and mesmerizing track from Italian band Stella Diana.The track is off their upcoming EP Alhena which will be available through British-Canadian label Raphalite Records in November. Stella Diana are Dario Torre (vocals and guitar), Giacomo Salzano (bass guitar), Roberto Amato (guitar), Raffaele Bocchetti (guitar), and Davide Fusco (drums). We look forward to their upcoming release and you can find more about them below

Website | Facebook | Twitter

Share This Article On...


Follow The Revue On...


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.