The Matinee June 14th edition is an extended one with eight new singles. The list is provided in reverse alphabetical order today just to change things up.


Strange Relations – “Ceremonies” (Minneapolis / St. Paul, MN, USA)

RIYL: Yumi Zouma, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, Purity Ring

Strange Relations - "Ceremonies"

With school out and summer here, it is the time of year when the calendar is filled with a steady stream of nights out. Minnesota trio Strange Relations have just the song to help you get ready with “Ceremonies”. The shimmering crystalline guitars and the pulsating synths and electric drums that echo throughout combined with frontwoman Casey Sowa’s dreamy vocals give the song a lush and dazzling atmosphere. While the song describes the routine or even ritual that many go through in preparing for a night out, including scrounging enough money to cover the door charge, the song has a calming effect, easing one’s nerves before diving headfirst into the parade of people and intense lights.

Strange Relations are Casey Sowa (drums/vocals), Maro (bass/synth/vocals), and Nate Hart-Andersen (guitar). Their new EP, “Going Out“, arrives July 8th via Tiny Engines.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Speedy Ortiz – “Emma O” (Northampton, MA, USA)

RIYL: Waxahatchee, Liz Phair, Sonic Youth

Speedy Ortiz - "Emma O"

For the better part of this decade, Speedy Ortiz have blown our minds with their ferocious live shows and high-energy alternative rock, made us laugh with some of their antics, and just amazed us with their overall musicianship and Sadie Dupuis’ songwriting. On their latest single, “Emma O”, do something unexpected – they have created an intimate dreamy single. A song about being with someone that you should not be with, Speedy Ortiz take on a Katie Crutchfield (Waxahatchee) sentimentality. Just goes to show that this great band still has quite a few tricks up their collective sleeves.

“Emma O” is taken from Speedy Ortiz’s Foiled Again EP, which is out now via Carpark Records.

In case you need a refresher, Speedy Ortiz are Mike Falcone (drums), Sadie Dupuis (vocals/guitar), Darl Ferm (bass), and Devin McKnight (guitar).

Website | Facebook | Instagram (Sadie Dupuis) | Twitter (Sadie Dupuis)


Novelties – “Intro From The Other Side” (Los Angeles, USA)

RIYL: Purity Ring, Milk & Bone

Novelties - "Intro From The Other Side"

Introducing Los Angeles-based duo Novelties, a brand new electro-pop duo comprised of Kelly Mylod and Sophie Noire who just released their debut single. “Intro From The Other Side” is as a teaser of what is to come. Coming in at just over two minutes, this short tune introduces us to the duo’s stunning electro-pop, which is simultaneously infectious yet intimate and serene. The production work is tantalizing while the dual harmonies are slight yet beautiful. As the two sing, “We come alive at night from the other side”, it makes us wonder what the other side sounds like. If it’s anything like this, Mylod and Noire could be stars.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Men I Trust – “Lauren” (Quebec City, Canada)

RIYL: Postiljonen, Francis, Yumi Zouma

Men I Trust - "Lauren"

Now why have we not heard about Men I Trust sooner? Better late than never, right? The electro-pop quartet from Quebec City released yesterday their latest single, “Lauren”, which redefines the word “cool”.

The song is relatively simple in its arrangements, even stripped down by elecro-pop standards. The glacial-pop approach, however, gives the song its intimacy and picturesque beauty, where you feel like you are driving along the dramatic California coastline with the wind blowing through your hair and you without a care in the world. The funky bass line and the dual harmonies of Odile Marmet-Rochefort and Emmanuelle Proulx are absolutely fantastic, and the two components carry the song to its atmospheric spot. To get a close up on what the quartet sound like live, they will be playing a few shows and festivals over the summer. Check out their social for more info.

Men I Trust are Dragos Chiriac (keys/mastering), Jessy Caron (guitar/bass/keys), Odile Marmet-Rochefort (vocals), and Emmanuelle Proulx (vocals).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Los Espinas – “Seaweed” (Sydney, Australia)

RIYL: Editors, Catfish and The Bottlemen, Sundara Karma, Minor Victories

Los Espinas - "Seaweed"

A few months ago, Sydney quartet Los Espinas shared their first single “Shadowboxing”, which had a retro feel a la Gin Blossoms and Toad the Wet Sprocket. Late last week, they shared their newest song, “Seaweed”, which is more of a contemporary indie-rock tune. But like some of the great rock bands of the past and present, Los Espinas demonstrate again how to put the cinematic into rock and, thus offering a brilliant number. With these two songs, Los Espinas could be Australia’s next great indie-rock band or at least its equivalent to Sundara Karma, a rising band from the UK.

“Seaweed” is from Los Espinas’ forthcoming EP, The Tide, which will be released next Monday, June 20th.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Lanark – “Anywhere But Here” (Perth, Australia)

RIYL: My Bloody Valentine, Slowdive, The Radio Dept.

Lanark - "Anywhere But Here"Another band making huge waves Down Under but on the other side of the country is quartet Lanark, and in listening to “Anywhere But Here” it is not difficult to understand why. Their shoegaze, dream-pop is spectacular, combining the shimmering familiarity of My Bloody Valentine with the dazzling, ethereal atmospherics of Slowdive and Lush. “Anywhere But Here” is one of those rare tracks that might leave you a bit light headed and woozy after hearing it all the while leaving a warm chill down your back. This is just stunning stuff by Michael Ewings, Darren Sandoval, Sandon French, and Damian Diggs.

Facebook | Instagram


Great News – “Special Place” (Bergen, Norway)

RIYL: The War on Drugs, Real Estate, Spoon

Great News - "Special Place"

Norwegian trio Great News first caught our attention back in January with their great tune, “Diamonds”, which had an Unknown Mortal Orchestra feel. On their new single, they offer something different. “Special Place” is, well, special. It feels familiar, like something from the ’80s, yet simultaneously it feels new and fresh. It is a mix of a cinematic indie-rock tune while blending in a driving sound, where you are freely speeding down the highway and just enjoying the solitude of the moment. The other way to describe this great tune is to imagine The War on Drugs and Real Estate collaborating on a song – it would probably sound a lot like this. Brilliant!

Great News are Even Kjelby (guitar, vocals) Ole Einarsen (bass) and Lars Platou (drums). How these three gents remain unsigned is a mystery.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


BLAB – “Johnny” (Essex, England)

RIYL: Alvvays, Warpaint, Hinds, Great Profile

BLAB - "Johnny"We have a soft spot for young singer-songwriters making indie-rock and indie-pop songs. Take Lisa van Kampen – a.k.a. Great Profile, the 21-year old Dutch artist who blew us away with songs like “Mustache and Glasses” and “Lemonade”. Another newcomer to arrive is Frances Murray, who goes by the moniker BLAB. At only 17-years old, Murray has released her debut single, “Johnny”, which is a fantastic introduction. Her songwriting and vocals mirror Molly Rankin (of Alvvays) while her garage pop-rock sound is anthemic and infectious a la Hinds and Warpaint. What’s even more impressive is that Murray, like van Kampen, did this all out of her bedroom and played all the instruments, except, as she admits, the drums, which she programmed. This young woman has some serious talent.

Her debut EP, Everything is everyone else’s fault, arrives July 1st, which we cannot wait to hear.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...