The Matinee September 9th includes six brand new tracks for your listening pleasure. Today we have a mix of awesome indie rock, amazing blues rock, folk inspired indie rock and a nice dose of funk inspired indie rock. We are hoping today’s offerings get your Friday off to an upbeat start. We have Canada, the US and the UK represented today. Don’t forget to check back tomorrow for our Saturday sampler and of course on Sunday for our mega weekly playlist.


Bad Family – “I’m A Drunk” (Brighton, England)

RIYL: The Kinks, The Crookes, Longfellow


After first listen I wasn’t sure what to make of “I’m A Drunk” as I’ve had my share of family and friends that have succumbed to alcoholism or addiction. Then I got the back story from the band and with that reasoning, I totally agree.

After hearing “Real Fast Car” we knew Bad Family’s lyrical content would cover serious subjects like heartbreak, lust and addiction. Here we have an upbeat rock ballad that tackles alcoholism, similar to the poignancy that Nathaniel Rateliff provided with “S.O.B.”

The song is almost a contradiction – on the one hand the track is upbeat and one that you can totally dance to, yet the lyrics paint the picture of a man aware of his shortcomings but still stuck in the cycle with no desire to stop. The result of continuing to drink ultimately ends in the loss of relationships and probably more later down the road. We are intrigued to hear more from Bad Family as they are slowing releasing tracks from their upcoming EP about serious issues you would find in a “Bad Family”.

Bad Family shares a little background on the track: “‘I’m A Drunk’ takes a light-hearted look at modern day soceity’s dependence on alcohol, both as a crutch for every day stress as well as a social lubricant, both of which allow drink to become a much higher priority than should have ever been allowed.”

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


The Marcus King Band – “Ain’t Nothin’ Wrong With That” (Greenville, SC, USA)

RIYL: The Revivalists, Gov’t Mule, Vintage Trouble


One of our favorite live acts from last year’s ACL Festival was The Marcus King Band. We were impressed by the sheer energy that was poured out on the stage that electrified the crowd. We are excited to now see them return with a new track and upcoming album.

With “Ain’t Nothin’ Wrong With That” we have a huge sound reflected by their talented line up thanks to the elements of horns, organ and keys. Of course we can’t forget Mr. King’s soulful vocals and amazing guitar playing which make this track an instant jazzy blues number that you want to listen to over and over again. . We are still blown away that Mr. King is just 20 years old and has been playing the guitar since he was pretty much first able to hold one.  We are almost certain the live set would include one of his amazing extended guitar solos so if you ever get the chance see them play live if you can.

The Marcus King Band’s self-tited album arrives October 7th via Fantasy Records.

TMKB is comprised of Marcus King (guitar/vocals), Jack Ryan (drums), Stephen Campbell (bass), Justin Johnson (trumpet/trombone/background/vocals/tambourine), Matt Jennings (organ/keyboards), and Dean Mitchell (saxophones).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Oldermost – “Finally Unsure” (Philadelphia, USA)

RIYL: The War on Drugs, Futurebirds, Ryan Adams


If you dig The War On Drugs, you will fall in love with the newest from Oldermost. The Philadelphia based band recently released “Finally Unsure” and it’s all about change, the fear of change and wondering if one will “find my way back home”.

On “Finally Unsure”, we go on a sonic trip that include breathy vocals, beautiful harmonies and perfectly placed guitar riffs. We are immediately brought into a world of uncertainty lyrically, but we feel calm and relaxed as well.

The overall tone of this track is sublime and it’s no wonder there is a comparison to TWOD, as Jeff Ziegler helped mix this track who also worked on Lost in The Dream. We look forward to hearing more from Oldermost – they have released two new tracks so far and we hope to hear more soon.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Slow Down Molasses – “Levitation Sickness” (Saskatoon, Canada)

RIYL: A Place To Bury Strangers, The Arkells, Wintersleep


“Levitation Sickness” is the newest from Slow Down Molasses. We have nothing but great things to say about Slow Down Molasses, especially after reviewing their last album, Burnt Black Cars.

“Levitation Sickness” is from their new album and it takes us on a trip of awesome grunge-inspired guitar rock as Mr McShane speaks to a relationship he can’t believe in and sometimes the struggles those feelings bring. The Canada based band once again prove that they continue to grow and evolve from one album to the next.

The single is from Slow Down Molasses’ new album, 100% Sunshine. It’s out now via Noyes Records. Slow Down Molasses are Tyson McShane, Jeanette Stewart, Chrix Morin, Levi Soulodre, Aaron Scholz, and Jordan Kurtz.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Streets of Laredo – “Silly Bones” (Brooklyn, USA via Auckland, New Zealand)

RIYL: Grouplove, Portugal. The Man, Broken Bells


“Silly Bones” is one awesome track from Streets of Laredo. We have a laid back and awesome track that is addicting and you totally want to sing along with. “Silly Bones” is captivating and provides an ethereal atmosphere along with laid back and inviting harmonies. This is actually an awesome end of summer jam.

Lyrically we have a track that talks about just taking out all of his “Silly Bones” which could be wanting and desiring to change certain things within ourselves. Wouldn’t it be nice if we could just take certain parts away from ourselves to get rid of certain issues?

“Silly Bones” is from Streets of Laredo’s forthcoming, new album, Wild. It arrives on October 21, 2016 via Dine Alone Records. The band is comprised of close-knit family members Daniel, Dave, and Sarahjane Gibson originally from New Zealand. They are joined by Cameron Deyell, Andrew McGovern, and Sean McMahon.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Golden Bear – “Let My Love Come Down” (Austin, USA)

RIYL: Brazos, Dam Funk, The Eastern Sea


Golden Bear is from Austin, TX and they are about to release a new album this month titled Dimensional Place.

With their newest album effort, we hear an eclectic mix that spans quirky indie funk-soul with harmonies that keep the listener totally engaged. With “Let My Love Come Down” we have a laid back love song that includes spacey elements and vocal harmonies that captivate throughout.

We also hear a nice 70s-80s jazz/funk vibe so it’s only fitting their video is totally retro and bizarrely enough the track almost goes perfect to this 80s jazzercise like video for active adults.

Dimensional Place will be released September 16 via C-Side Records.

Website | Facebook


Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...