It’s Halloween today, and for everyone out there who needs to get dressed up and ready for trick or treating, we have a pretty fast-paced and rocking matinee for you. Today’s matinee includes a nice mix of rock with some electronic elements thrown in for good measure. We hope everyone has an awesome and safe time tonight.

Bassh – “Animal” (Nashville, USA)

RIYL: Arctic Monkeys, The Black Keys, Twenty One Pilots


Bassh is the duo of Jimmy Brown and CJ Hardeee. They only have a few singles to date, but there will be an EP release early next year via Antler Records.

Their first single “Body” was a melodic pop gem and “Animal” takes a bit of a harder tone with a rap/rock vibe similar to Twenty One Pilots. They still have those hook laden basslines though that keep you wanting to hear more.

We are intrigued as to what other tracks might be coming from Bassh. We are thinking there could be some major diversification in their sound.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


False Advertising – “Sigh” (Manchester, England)

RIYL: Sonic Youth, Yuck, Wolf Alice


UK rockers False Advertising are back with another addicting rock track titled “Sigh“.

The trio just keep on churning out catchy grunge inspired rock tracks. With “Sigh” the lyrics speak to a possible unrequited love. The singer shares that “The one I want’s a sillouhette” and at the end proclaims The one you love’s a sillhouette. A bullet straight through the head But what if, it was meant..For me, me.” With Ms. Hingley’s awesome vocals set against the backdrop of perfectly placed guitar riffs along with garage heavy percussion.

False Advertising are Jen Hingley, Chris Warr, and Josh Sellers.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Highly Suspect – “Little One” (Brooklyn via Cape Cod, MA, USA)

RIYL: Chris Cornell, Slothrust,


Highly Suspect are back with their sophomore release and each new single has us wanting to hear more. “Little One” is an awesome heartbreaking rocker.

The trio continue to craft rock heavy pop tracks that continue to magnify their talent and also mesmerize fans along the way. Lyrically the track speaks to that relationship that was so strong and when it’s ended the reminders are everywhere. There is some vulnerability with this track yet the pure adrenaline rock that Highly Suspect is so great at conveying still shines through.

“Little One” is from Highly Suspect’s forthcoming new album, The Boy Who Died Wolf. It will be released November 18th via 300 Entertainment.

Highly Suspect are Ryan Meyer (drums/vocals), Rich Meyer (bass/vocals), and Johnny Stevens (guitar/vocals/synth).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Otis English – “Trigger” (Los Angeles, USA)

RIYL: Ray LaMontagne mixed with The 1975, The Weeknd


Otis English is back with another track titled “Trigger“. He first wowed us with “Young Kids, Old Love”, and now he is back with another anthemic and addicting rocker.

“Trigger” includes Mr. English’s soulful and bluesy vocals along with a subject matter he knows well – sadness and struggle. With lyrics that proclaim “All I have and all I am / Is burned to the ground with my own hands / I let you come around, make your mess / My hand’s on the trigger, we’re back here again” he is able to be forthcoming with his own shortcomings yet also point out the messy parts of relationships on both sides.

Mr. English brings many talents to the table including lyrical story telling along with anthemic sounds that completely hold our attention.

Look out for Otis English’s debut EP later this year on Crooked Paintings.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Sløtface – “Empire Records” (Stavanger, Norway)

RIYL: HAERTS, Wolf Alice, Sunflower Bean


Sløtface have impressed us with their punk/garage/grunge combination that just keeps us going back for more.

They take the cult hit ’90s movie Empire Records to a new level with a track of the same name. With lyrics bringing back good old memories for any child of the ’90s with “I’ll find my way to Empire Records/ Liv is waiting there for me,”  “Championship vinyl will always have me/ And I’ll play bass for Sonic Death Monkey.”

Nostalgia usually always provides us warm good feels inside and with the track “Empire Records”, mission accomplished if you grew up in the ’90s.

The song is available on Propeller Recordings. Sløtface are Haley Shea (vocals), Lasse Lokøy (bass), Halvard Skeie Wiencke (drums), and Tor-Arne Vikingstad (guitar).

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


So Below – “Hard” (Auckland, New Zealand)

RIYL: CLAVVS, Nola Wren, Youngblood

so-below-hardMadeline North is So Below. The New Zealand pop songstress is back with “Hard“.

We have a definite track that sticks to you like glue. It’s addicting and one you want to put on repeat. It has just the right amount of synth along with melodic pop to satisfy your craving for something good.

“Hard” takes a lyrical direction in regards to a failing relationship. We can all relate to seeing a relationship fall apart right before our own eyes.

Says North of the new single, “Hard is definitely the most aggressive song I’ve ever written with a pretty strong pop element. I love catchy pop melodies, if it doesn’t get stuck in your head it didn’t do its job!”

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...