The Matinee January 9th include 7 awesome tracks for your new year’s listening pleasure. We are finally back in full swing here at The Revue and of course there is no shortage of great music to share. It was really hard to choose just 6 tracks today so rest assured there will be plenty of new music this week. We have indie rock covering a myriad of different genres within ‘indie rock’ and also electronic for good measure. We have Canada, The UK, The USA and Iceland represented today.

The Fontaines – “Handstand” (Los Angeles, USA)

RIYL: Angel Olsen, Springtime Carnivore, Sylvan Esso

We are a little late at sharing this stellar song, but better late than never. “Handstand” is from The Fontaines’ EP, ii.  “Handstand” has clever lyrics like “I try to tiptoe through your heart like an avalanche” and an addicting chorus as well. We hear a throwback doo wop vibe mixed with face paced new wave rock as well.

We also really can’t get enough of Charlotte Fontaine on vocals so it’s always nice to share timeless vocals. The Fontaines are currently working on an upcoming debut album which should be out later this year and will be attending the SXSW music festival in March.

The Fontaines are comprised of Charlotte Fontaine (vocals), Hank Fontaine (backup vocals/guitar), Jason DeMayo (bass), and Scott Zimmerman (drummer).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Men I Trust – “Plain View” (Quebec City, Canada)

RIYL: Portishead, Massive Attack, Moby

Men I Trust recently released “Plain View” and they also have a video for the song as well which includes footage from their visit to China last year. The track is a stellar song perfect for your soul mate with lyrics including “You and I we are one, would you lie with me?”.

The vibe throughout the song is relaxing yet entrancing and we have beautiful vocals throughout. With three solid singles released last year (“Lauren” and “Humming Bird” as well) we look forward to what else is in store this year for Men I Trust.

Men I Trust are Dragos Chiriac (keys/mastering), Jessy Caron (guitar/bass/keys), Odile Marmet-Rochefort (vocals), and Emmanuelle Proulx (vocals).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Said The Whale – “Step Into The Darkness” (Vancouver, Canada)

RIYL: Death Cab for Cutie, Mainland,The Zolas

Said the Whale just released “Step Into The Darkness” and it’s a stellar track. Although the once 5 member band is now a trio, we hear a cohesive and strong chemistry between the three.

“Step Into The Darkness” chronicles a break up experienced by Ben Worcester back in 2015. The track is cleverly written and although has a darker subject matter is transforms into a very friendly pop tune. We are intrigued for their new material after hearing “Step Into The Darkness”.  Said the Whale are excited to release their new album as a trio and they feel it’s some of their best yet.

“Step Into The Darkness” is the lead single from the band’s forthcoming, new album, As Long As Your Eyes Are Wide. The LP arrives March 31st via Hidden Pony Records.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


San Fermin – “Open” (Brooklyn, USA)

RIYL: Cigarettes After Sex, Bats for Lashes, Portishead

We are always intrigued for each newly released single from San Fermin. With their diverse line up and dual singers, we aren’t quite sure what we will get once we press play. After hearing “Open”, this week we are mesmerized and looking forward to their upcoming album. Ms Charlene Kaye’s vocals bring a beautiful touch to this electronic infused gem which of course includes their signature orchestral elements which bring such a unique element to each track and is what makes San Fermin stand apart from other indie bands out there today.

With San Fermin slated to appear at SXSW this year, we are sure we will be hearing more from their upcoming album release. Ellis Ludwig-Leone shares that “Open” is keystone to the new album.

“Open” is the lead single from San Fermin’s forthcoming new album, Belong. Release date to be announced, but it will be distributed by Downtown and Interscope Records.

San Fermin are Allen Tate (vocals), Charlene Kaye (vocals), Rebekah Durham (violin), John Brandon (trumpet), Stephen Chen (saxophone), Ellis Ludwig-Leone (keyboard/composer/band leader), Tyler McDiarmid (guitar), and Michael Hanf (drums).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Spaceface – “Cowboy Lightning” (Memphis, USA)

RIYL: POND, Temples, Morgan Delt

We received a little gem right after the new year and are excited about SPACEFACE even though the track was released back when we were on break. The band is fronted by Jake Ingalls, keyboardist/guitarist for The Flaming Lips.

We are super excited to hear this psych infused track become one of those where we just want to keep hitting repeat. It’s cosmic, trippy and has a stellar bassline that keeps us wanting to hear more. Spaceface’s debut album, Sun Kids, will arrive later this year.

Spaceface are Matthew Strong, Jake Ingalls, Eric Martin, Victor Quin “Caveman” Hill, Peter Armstrong, and “Big Red” Daniel Quinlan.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


TEN FÉ – “Twist Your Arm” (London, England)

RIYL: Coast Modern, Day Wave, Mating Ritual

TEN FÉ just released “Twist Your Arm”. It’s a electro infused indie pop track which stays with us after first listen. Lyrics include the singer wondering if their lover is truly into them any longer as it feels very much like a one-sided relationship and he has to twist her arm just to hold hands.

We hear melodic pop-rock throughout the newest track with  an almost gospel-esque chorus towards the end that begs to see the light shine again on their relationship and speaks to needing something to hold onto.

This is the second single from TEN FÉ’s debut album, Hit The Light, which will be released on February 3rd, 2017.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram



Vök – “Show Me” (Hafnarfjörður / Akranes, Iceland)

RIYL: Archive, The xx, Phoria

Vök is a beautiful electro pop track that we just had to share. “Show Me” is a track that is laid back, ethereal and just plain mesmerizing. We can’t get enough of Ms. Margrét Rán’s vocals. The song chronicals a relationship where the singer needs to know that this relationship is for real.

The electronic composition with driving bass paired with just the right amount of synth makes for the perfect backdrop for the sweet and stellar vocals.

Vök are Margrét Rán (vocals/guitar/keyboard), Andri Már (saxophone/APC), Ólafur Alexander (guitar/bass), and
Einar Stef (drums).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...