Happy Friday everyone. We have six amazing new tracks to get your weekend started. We have singer-songwriter fare, sublime indie pop, super exciting indie rock/pop and some pretty sweet shoegaze as well. We have artists representing the US, the UK and Sweden today. Don’t forget to check back tomorrow for our Saturday sampler and of course our mega playlist on Sunday.

Adam Torres – “Hatchet” (Austin, Texas, USA)

RIYL: Elliot Smith, Damien Rice, Sufjan Stevens
How can a song be both completely heart wrenching and stunningly beautiful at the same time? That’s no easy feat but Adam Torres delivers in spades with his latest single “Hatchet.”

Both the vocals and the underlying guitar wail the same mournful tune; the result is an undeniable feeling of loss and pain. The raw emotion exuding from this track will leave you breathless. Torres uses brilliant imagery in his lyrics that bring his pain to life.

Bury the hatchet in my heart. 
My body's been bled white since we've been apart.

Torres uses the keening from pedal steel to full effect as it’s the perfect accompaniment to communicate his pain. And while this is a new song, it’s so easy and comfortable you’ll swear you’ve known it your whole life.

“Hatchet” is included on the forthcoming EP I Came To Sing The Song, due for release on February 24th on Fat Possum Records. This EP is a follow up to Torres’ critically acclaimed second LP, Pearls to Swine. Adam Torres’ I Came To Sing The Song EP can be pre-ordered here.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Brontë – “Hands” (London, England)

RIYL: Fickle Friends, the 1975, The Neighborhood

Brontë recently released their EP Hands, and the title track is quite addictingly awesome. It’s feel-good indie pop at its finest. The vocals are fantastic, and we just can’t help swaying throughout the entire song. The guitar pieces are expertly constructed throughout the perfect expanses of the track.

By the end we are thinking: “Yes! No one else’s love is gonna bring us down.” The anthemic chorus at the end is the perfect closer to a damn near perfect track. This definitely needs to be added to your upcoming warm weather playlists.

Brontë is Lonnie, Elie and James.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


CAESAR – “Crossed Wires” (Manchester, England)

RIYL: Cloud Nothings, Real Estate, Washed Out

CAESAR hashtagged their track as “alien music,” though we just like to call it stupendous indie/shoegaze with a bit of experimental tones throughout.

“Crossed Wires” is expansive, dream-like, and a perfect mix of shoegaze with a bit of surf-rock woven throughout. We also hear a bit of a ’90s vibe going that we love. CAESAR has now been put on our radar and we look forward to more from the talented quartet.

CAESAR is Will Carkeet, Teo Castelvecchi, George Whalley, and Sean Toohey. “Crossed Wires” is released via Blak Hand Records.

Facebook | Twitter


marciscans – “Friends” (Leeds, England)

RIYL: Eliza and the Bear, High Tyde, Youth Club

marciscans are back with a killer track titled “Friends.” It’s the perfect track that speaks to how we all used to have more time for our friends. “Friends” includes amazing vocals, driving percussion, exciting guitars, and a chorus that makes you want to jump up and down.

“Friends” is a raucous rocker with a sweet sentiment that in the end – your friends will be there for you no matter what. We can’t get enough of the track and look forward to more from the up and coming quartet. “Friends” is out today and available to stream and download everywhere.

marsicans is comprised of James (lead vocals/guitar), Oli (guitar), Rob (bass/keys), and Cale (drums).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


San Fermin – “No Promises” (Brooklyn, USA)

RIYL: Kishi Bashi, Rubblebucket

We are getting excited for the new release from San Fermin. “No Promises” is the second single, and so far each track has us impressed.

We hear a bit more synth and heavy percussion within this track. We still hear their subtle signature horns towards the end, but this is definitely leaning more towards the synthpop realm. Hopefully this track could gain the band a few more fans as the talented group is definitely underrated. “No Promises” is from their upcoming album, Belong, which is out April 7 via Interscope Records. You can pre-order here.

The track lyrically is speaking to his band mates. Ellis Ludwig-Leone shared with CoS: “I just realized how much of their lives they’ve devoted to being in this band. It’s overwhelming to think about. The verses are about how touring can go from this exciting thing to feeling like you’re quite literally going in circles. The bridge is a rapid-fire list of things they’ve been required to do: early flights, all-night drives, maintaining long distance relationships, etc. But really the song is about the fear of disappointing the people you love.”

San Fermin are Allen Tate (vocals), Charlene Kaye (vocals), Rebekah Durham (violin), John Brandon (trumpet), Stephen Chen (saxophone), Ellis Ludwig-Leone (keyboard/composer/band leader), Tyler McDiarmid (guitar), and Michael Hanf (drums).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


ShitKid – “Sugar Town” (Gothenburg, Sweden)

RIYL: Yeah, Yeah, Yeah’s, Ex Hex, Bully

Seemingly not one to overcomplicate anything, ShitKid brings us a straightforward lo-fi gem in “Sugar Town” on the equally not over-complicated EP titled EP 2.

At age 24, Åsa Söderqvist is the antidote to formulaic pop songs. Her irreverent approach injects loads of her personality into her lo-fi garage rock where she’s a one woman show writing, recording, and performing all of her own songs. Fair warning: the catchy melody on “Sugar Town” will be near impossible to get out of your head. This modern anti-pop garage rock tune has a definite ’60s retro-rock feel to it, making it all the more endearing.

By pre-ordering ShitKid’s upcoming EP 2 here through PNKSLM Recording, you get the lead single “Sugar Town” right away.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...