Since this week began with more unsettling news, the Melodic Tonic May 24th edition features five songs to nourish your heart and soul. Featuring artists from England, Netherlands, Russia, and the USA, these melodies offer the rhythmic repose we all need.


Artificial Waves – “Rising Soul” (Moscow, Russia)

RIYL: Explosions in the Sky, Caspian

Ambient instrumental music has healing properties. One spin of the gently evocative sounds of Russian post-rock outfit Artificial Waves will soothe your heart and mind with their new single, “Rising Soul.” At just over five minutes in length, this song takes you on an ethereal journey through sonic peaks and valleys, all while holding you close. Each step leads you to the rapturous conclusion that takes your breath away. The result is pure catharsis.

This song is from their new album, Heavy. Deep. Sad. Ironic., out now via Fluttery Records on Bandcamp and iTunes.

Artificial Waves are Alexey Pereverzev (guitar/keys), Artur Kudrov (guitar), Dmitry Kaleev (bass), and Ilya Kosharov (drums).

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


Secret Shine – “Make Me You” (Bristol, England)

RIYL: Slowdive, Cocteau Twins, The Jesus and Mary Chain

Let the soothing tones of Secret Shine wash over you from this brilliant new song. While we shared their “Falling Again” single last month – calling it “dreamgaze perfection” – “Make Me You” is ideal for times of reflection when music (and a good cup of tea) is what you crave most. Where some songs feel like a caring arm patting your shoulder, this one is a full embrace that lets you know you’re not alone.

There Is Only Now is out now via Saint Marie Records. You can get it from the label or Bandcamp.

Secret Shine are: Jamie Gingell (bass), Kathryn Smith (vocals/keyboards), Dean Purnell (vocals/guitar), Scott Purnell (guitar), and Tom Adams (drums).

Website | Facebook | Twitter


Saudade Sisters – “Where You Are” (Seattle, USA)

RIYL: Marissa Nadler, Julia Holter

Seattle indie dream-pop duo Saudade Sisters make exquisitely melancholy music that you just want to dive into, as if it were a pool of healing waters. Between their gauzy sound and the sigh-inducing vocals of Jena Pyle and Claire Morales, the potency of “Where You Are” nearly defies description. You get the misty tones of Seattle fused with the southwestern warmth Pyle brought when she relocated to the Pacific Northwest from Texas.

Picture yourself under starry skies joined by dear friends in front of a bonfire: that’s the intimate magic this song conveys.

You can find “Where You Are” on their Wrong Ones EP. It is out now from Sports Day Records on Bandcamp.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter (Jena Pyle)


Someone – “The Deep” (Amsterdam, Netherlands)

RIYL: Azure Ray (Orenda Fink, Maria Taylor), Land of Talk

Dutch singer Tessa Rose Jackson has vocals that are equal parts sunshine and clouds: bright and warm, yet with a hint of ethereal moodiness. Until recently she recorded under her given name, but now she’s adopted the moniker Someone. While that name may seem generic, “The Deep” is anything but. Quite simply, it’s an epic masterpiece. Sweeping layers of warm strings caress your senses while Jackson’s vocals soar. You’ll want to keep this one on repeat, because each time you hear her sing “all will be well,” you’ll feel you’ve been brought back to life.

“The Deep” is out now on her Monocle label through PIAS Holland. It is available to stream or purchase on iTunes.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


The Holy Circle – “Paris” (Baltimore, USA)

RIYL: Broods, Dead Can Dance

With its almost tribal drumbeat intro, “Paris” from Baltimore-based indie trio The Holy Circle pulses with the creative vibrance of that city’s famed Left Bank. Once you’ve gotten a head rush from the intro, the song intoxicates you with the stunning vocals of Erica Burgner-Hannum. Meanwhile her husband Terence’s brooding synths and Nathan Jurgenson’s hypnotic percussion further fuel the incendiary properties of this gem. Evocative and empowering, “Paris” is the soundtrack to your revived spirit’s resilience.

“Paris” is available now at Bandcamp. Their self-titled debut arrives June 6 via Annihilvs Power Electronix with pre-orders here.

The Holy Circle are Terence Hannum (Synths), Erica Burgner-Hannum (vocals), and Nathan Jurgenson (drums).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...