The Matinee ’18 February 5th includes six new tracks for your listening pleasure. It’s a great way to get your week started off right. We have a nice mix of synth/dream pop and indie rock. Artists today are representing Israel, the UK, and the US.

AMETHYSTS – “Be There” (Suffolk, England)

RIYL: Cults, Meadowlark, Cathedrals

AMETHYSTS are back with a new song called “Be There”. Clarice and Simon spent the last half of 2017 writing and recording new tunes, and “Be There” is the first one out of the game, which is dream-pop perfection as Clarice’s shimmering vocals are surrounded by vintage drum beats and fluid synth.

“Be There” explores and conveys the passion and ambition in us as well as recognizing that we all need support. As the lyrics proclaim:

“I wanna be there if it all falls through.
I wanna be there, just me and you.”

With respect to how the song was written, AMETHYSTS share the following:

“After an evening of jamming, its 6/8 time signature and catchy vocal line just fell into place within a few hours. It’s the first song we’ve written in 6/8. Clarice took to writing the lyrics from an optimistic yet emotional place, hoping it would help to self heal during a personal family affair.”

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Emmy Wildwood – “Down Down” (Brooklyn via Tuscon, AZ, USA)

RIYL: Sia, Zara Larsson, Zendaya

Emmy Wildwood has a new release titled “Down Down”.  It focuses on a tricky subject regarding self-sabotaging habits. While the track has a bit of a brooding feel, it’s also quite upbeat with an ’80s shimmer to it. The listener is also immediately drawn to Emmy’s delicate vocals and breathy harmonies.

Emmy shares a bit about the motivation behind the track:

“Down Down” was inspired by the idea of intimate betrayal as a coping mechanism, and was written after I learned of the break-up of a close friend’s marriage due to their partner’s sex addiction. This song interprets a downward spiral of addiction and self sabotage as coping mechanisms and the inevitable destruction that ensues when we live in denial of our demons.

The song is from Emmy Wildwood’s forthcoming album, All My Blood.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Floor Eight – “Plan H” (Tel-Aviv, Israel)

RIYL: The Mars Volta, Minus The Bear, Sunny Day Real Estate

Floor Eight have just released a new single, “Plan H”. The track is a great mashup of ’90s rock with a dash of psych-rock and even a bit of soul and R&B. They have a unique way with their tempo and timing, but the overall vibe is a refreshing one as we are reminded that great guitar heavy rock is still alive and well.

“Plan H” is from their forthcoming debut album Completely Dismissed.

The band shares a bit about their upcoming album:

“‘Completely Dismissed’ is a concept that strongly relates to a belief we share regarding the carelessness, and apathy society is demonstrating towards the environment we share. Using the art and the music we create, we want to get more people to be more present in the moment, rather than living in an unconscious, autopilot like mindset.”

Floor Eight is comprised of May Shemtov, Yonatan Tzarum, Maor Ben-haroush, and Oran Ben-haroush.

Website | Facebook | Instagram


Llovers – “Just Lust” (North East, England)

RIYL: JAWS, Marsicans, Paris Youth Foundation

“Just Lust” is the newest single from Llovers. It starts off with a laid-back melancholic vibe, as we hear the disconnection and space within the track. It definitely doesn’t remain that way, as the eruption of emotion and sound explodes about the halfway mark. Llovers is great at transferring their raw emotions into each new song and through the finished product we feel exactly what they were aiming to portray. That talent alone allows for the band to truly connect with their audience and continue to grow a loyal and passionate fan base.

As Jack Brooks explains a bit about the track, we understand the changes and build in tempo :

“Just Lust is the sum of a deeply personal exploration in 2017 concerning how I felt within myself. I considered the effect that perception of ‘men’ as a generalized group moulded my own mental health and enforced a feeling of disconnection from a percentage of the population. Musically the track is built to replicate the thought process providing time and thought before erupting in a wave of raw emotion in a cathartic way.”

Llovers are Jack Brooks, David Macnab, Matty Jenkinson, Ben Connor, and Joe Connor.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Northern National – “Slow Down” (Dallas, USA)

RIYL: Colony House, Saints of Valory, The Unlikely Candidates

Northern National have a new track, “Slow Down”. The song has an anthemic rock feel that holds your attention after the first drum beat hits. The harmonies are expertly crafted and could easily be heard on your favorite local rock station. Northern National have all the potential elements needed for a breakout from their Dallas roots and reaching a worldwide audience.

The lyrics are regarding a relationship as they proclaim:

“I won’t slow down.
I won’t back down.
The only thing I need is you.
That’s no lie”.

“Slow Down” is from Northern National’s upcoming EP, D.A.R.K., which should be released later this spring.

Northern National are Michael Rossi (lead vocals/electric guitar), Michael Kanne (percussion/keys), Andrew Supulski (lead electric guitar), Dylan Green (bass), and Anthony Comas (drums).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Xie – “Habits” (Los Angeles & New York City, USA)

RIYL: Charli XCX, Elohim, MØ

“Habits” is the newest single from Xie. The track is hugely hypnotic, as the beats can easily put you in a trance as Xie’s saccharine vocals float across each bass-heavy approach.

The LA-based producer, singer, and multimedia artist is bringing a fresh perspective to electronic music. Her latest single is a contemplative electro-pop tune about the cycles of work, love, and loss that we go through that sometimes can feel like an endless rat race, but also there’s something comfortable in the familiar.

Xie shares a bit behind the track:

We all know the feeling when you just can’t seem to stop a cycle of thoughts, work, love, lust, or addiction. We love ’em, we hate ’em, we need ’em.”

“Habits” is out now via MrSuicideSheep’s Seeking Blue Records.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...