The Matinee ’18 February 26th includes 6 new tracks to kick your week off just right. March is almost approaching and we have some new tunes that will keep you energized. We hope you find your new favorite song or band. Artists are representing Australia, Sweden, Switzerland, the US and the UK.

Bad Pony – “Knife” (Sydney, Australia)

RIYL: Band of Skulls, Circa Waves, Highly Suspect

Bad Pony have a brand new track titled “Knife”. It’s an amazing in your face grit rock track injected with a nice dose of punk as well as catchy indie pop harmonies. This formula means their potential reach could easily cross over a wide range of current music fans. A couple of their previous releases also offer an added pop electro element so they have very nice potential for a break out.

“Knife” is off of Bad Pony’s forthcoming sophomore EP titled Deficiency. Bad Pony will soon arrive in Austin next month to attend the SXSW festival representing Australia.

Bad Pony are Jarred Young, Sam Thomlinson, Cron Van Niekerk, Isaac Chamberlain, and
Mark Webber.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Ben Phipps – “Don’t Stop Now” (ft. Sam DeRosa) (New York City, USA via Gothenburg, Sweden)

RIYL: filous, Louis the Child, Whethan

Ben Phipps is hard at work expanding his creative universe to produce, as he calls it, “better everything,” from his adopted NYC home.The Swiss native has already amassed a multitude of fans with his previous single release, “I Don’t Think So”.

“Don’t Stop Now” is his newest single featuring vocalist Sam DeRosa. It’s a super hypnotic track that captures the beginnings of a relationship that you just can’t stop thinking about. .Mr. Phipps’ slick production floats across synth pop and strictly EDM, yet is easily ready for mainstream top 40 radio play. Aside from having the potential for wide mass appeal, it immediately needs to be added to your upcoming warm weather playlist.

Mr. Phipps has already turned down a major record label deal and is currently releasing his original music on his own label: 14 & 9 Records.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Candace – “Rewind” (Portland, USA)

RIYL: Lush, Memoryhouse, Beach House

Candace have a new track titled “Rewind”. The track is broodingly beautiful and if we were listening on cassette tape, we would definitely be rewinding to listen again and again. Their dream pop feels are quite amazing and there is a nice psych element floating around as well. The vocals are truly blissful on “Rewind” and makes for an overall excellent track with laid back guitar riffs and perfectly placed percussion.

Candace is currently on our list to check out during the upcoming SXSW festival. “Rewind” is off of the band’s forthcoming LP titled New Ruins.

Candace are comprised of Sarah Rose guitar/bass/vocals, Sarah Nienaber guitar/bass/vocals and Mara Appel drums/vocals.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


KITTEN – “I Did It!” (Brooklyn via Los Angeles, USA)

RIYL: Blondfire, Cults, HOLYCHILD

KITTEN is fronted by Chloe Chaidez and “I Did It” is the band’s newest track. It’s a lovely slice of 80s glossed indie pop. Chloe’s exude a sense of urgency as she chronicles a major mistake on their newest release.

KITTEN’s sound has evolved over the last decade and it’s possible moving from LA to Brooklyn might have influenced the difference in their sound. “I Did It” is really irresistible and will be another track to adorn your upcoming summer jams playlist.

Chloe shares a bit about the track: “The song is both regretful and empowering, It’s about the kind of mistake that ends up showing you the way forward. I’ve made a lot of those. I’m sure there will be more.” 

“I Did It” is off of KITTEN’s forthcoming sophomore album which will be out later this year. KITTEN will also be attending the SXSW festival next month. They will definitely be one worth checking out.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Sam Himself – “Nobody” (Brooklyn, USA via Switzerland)

RIYL: Bruce Springsteen, Kurt Vile, The War On Drugs

Sam Himself has re-emerged with a new sound. His debut EP, Songs in D was quite melancholic and straddled along the Folk/Americana line. “Nobody” is his newest track and he brings forth an energetic track that has the spirit of TWOD, Kurt Vile and even Bruce Springsteen. Nobody is totally upbeat with electric guitar and exuberant synth as Sam Himself’s soul filled vocals tackle the subject of moving to a new town.

The Swiss native now calls Brooklyn home and this track is ode to the reality of moving to a new place where no one knows your name as the lyrics state: “You’re not from here, you’re not one of them. You’re nobody and no one gives a damn.”

Sam Himself shares a bit about his move: “The best and worst part about moving to New York City is realizing that nobody has been waiting for you here,” Sam explains. “The apple is plenty big without you, and unless you come up with a pretty good reason, New York doesn’t care. ‘Nobody’ is about that crushing, eye-opening and ultimately liberating experience.”

“Nobody” is off of Sam Himself’s upcoming sophomore EP.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Skinny Lister – “Thing Like That” (London, England)

RIYL: Frank Turner, Flogging Molly, Dropkick Murphys

Skinny Lister are back with a bonus track from their most recent album. “Thing Like That” is a protest song of sorts as the video has frontman Dan Heptinstall running around London in a Union Jack onesie. The song itself is a real banger and no doubt will be performed amazing live.

Dan Heptinstall shares a bit about the reasoning behind the track: “‘Thing Like That’ was written as a kind of involuntary reaction to the stuff going on around us – namely Brexit and Trump, these two things seemed to somehow go hand in hand and point to a direction that doesn’t seem particularly appealing. We are not a political band and not trying to force our views down peoples throats, but it just felt like something had be got off our chests.”

“Thing Like That” is taken from the band’s double-album version of their third full-length, The Devil, The Heart & The Fight, which is out now via Xtra Mile Recordings. Skinny Lister are SXSW pros and will be returning again this year. If you have yet to catch this band live, make it a priority. There live sets are boisterous and not to be missed.

The band is comprised of Lorna Thomas, Daniel Heptinstall, Maxwell Thomas, Scott Milsom, Thom Mills, and Sam Brace.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...