The Matinee ’18 May 28th includes six new tracks for some of you enjoying a day off (Hopefully). Many tracks are perfect ‘chill-out’ songs but there is also some great rock in there to get you a little hyped up. Bands/Artists today are representing Australia, Sweden, The US and the UK today.

Ella Grace – “Run” (London, England)

RIYL: Lucy Rose, Maggie Rogers, Phoebe Bridgers

“Run” is the newest track shared by Indie Folk newcomer Ella Grace. Her newest offering is captivating with her sweet yet raspy vocals completely drawing the listener in. Her vocals take the forefront with acoustic undertones providing a soothing track that lyrically tackles uncertainty in a relationship.  Ms. Grace is a compelling storyteller that includes honest transparency paired with floating harmonies.

Ella Grace shares about the meaning behind the song:

“Run was a super cathartic song to write and record, it was a message to someone I loved. I wrote it during a time when I was really split between two worlds. Run was this promise to try and stay with somebody whilst my heart was pulling me in other directions. It was a really bittersweet time for me and I think this track captures it perfectly”.

The single is out on Ont’ Sofa Records. We expect to hear more new music this summer from Ella Grace.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Uma E Fernqvist – “For U” (Sweden)

RIYL: Massive Attack, Portishead, Tricky

Uma E Fernqvist has been one of the world’s foremost professional dancers for more than 20 years. She has now taken her love of movement and music to comprise her debut EP, Reverse. “For You” is the stand out 8 minute track on the EP that will put you in a trance. It’s starts out slowly with mesmerizing vocals and the electronic production progresses to and ethereal level and never lets go.

For the longest while there has not been another band/artist or sound that compares much to Massive Attack or Portishead. Fernqvist’s “For U” provides similarities that ignite excitement for those fans that long for “Teardrop” esque type tracks.

Ms. Fernqvist shares that “For U” is about a wait that almost makes you destructively paralyzed and puts you in a vacuum of beautiful melancholy. A wait for someone… or for myself.’

“For You” and Reverse is available now to stream everywhere.

Facebook | Instagram


Lyves – “Still” (London, England)

RIYL: EZA, Jesse Ware, Zola Blood

Francesca Bergami is Lyves. She has recently released a new track titled “Still”. The London based singer songwriter is embarking on a project titled Eight Rooms. “Still” is the first release of a series of one song a month for the next eight months. The songs will also be followed by short films intertwined via subtle connections that the viewer may only become aware of at a later date.

“Still” starts with Lyves’ soulful vocals accompanied by simple acoustics and melancholic beats. Ms. Bergami shares via her Facebook page “This song is about craving quiet, stillness and peace when your inner world feels loud and chaotic.” The song easily takes you away to a serene place as the lyrical content is begging for solace and peace, even though the reality is far from the desire for a break in both movement and thoughts.

“Still” is written by Francesca and produced by JNTHN Stein and is the opening song of the 8 works yet to come.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


The New Respects – “Freedom” (Nashville, USA)

RIYL: Alabama Shakes, Lake Street Dive, Welshly Arms

The New Respects are a family affair out of Nashville. Comprised of three siblings, twins Alexis (bass) and Zandy Fitzgerald (guitar), along with their brother Darius (drums) and cousin Jasmine Mullen (vocals/guitar).

“Freedom” is their newest release and it’s an awesome rocker with stunning vocals from Ms. Mullen. Their overall sound is full of confident rock with clean guitar lines that have a slight blues/soul influence shining through. The lyrics are hopeful and proclaim:

“Baby, take it from me
Ain’t nothing dragging us down.
Baby, take it from me.
Ain’t nothing stopping us now”.

We are hoping “Freedom” is the first of new tunes this year since releasing last year’s Here Comes Trouble EP.

At first glance you may not assume the quartet would be dishing up stellar guitar rock but they definitely are which is refreshing and quite amazing. The New Respects will soon be joining O.A.R. on tour this summer.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Nick Summerfield – “Shelter” (Sydney, Australia)

RIYL: Troye Sivn, Oh Wonder, Years and Years

Nick Summerfield is an electro-pop musician from Sydney. Self-taught and born in Wollongong, Australia. “Shelter” was released back in January, but just recently uploaded to SoundCloud. The track introduces us to Mr. Summerfield’s inviting vocals set against anthemic harmonies that include keys and hypnotic beats. The lyrics are hopeful and offer up self confidence for anyone that might be doubting yourself.

Nick shares a bit about the track:

Shelter is a story of my personal growth. I was in a pretty unhappy place when I started writing, but I knew the only person that could change that was me. The lyrics talk about facing truth and confronting yourself – I had to look at myself, my flaws and questioned if I was good enough during those times of instability and vulnerability.”

“Shelter” is out now on The A&R Department.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


NIGHT OWLS – “Tragically Human” (Leeds, England)

RIYL: mid-career Oasis meets Suede and Dead Pretties

“Tragically Human” is the newest track from NIGHT OWLS. It’s a melancholic beauty that tackles human tragedies including consequences from certain bad habits like smoking cigarettes. The lyrics also hint towards even more unfathomable outcomes like suicide or murder as the lyrics proclaim: “there’s a corpse in front of me, there’s no reason for you to go and hurt yourself and the ones you love as well, there’s no reason, no reason.” There is also an introspective point within the song where the proclamation is: “You will get what you deserve but for all that it’s worth, I hope you don’t”. 

The track begins with piano melodies and swirling guitar as the vocals unfold and the story forces the listener to possibly re-evaluate certain life habits. It also begs a valid question, are some of our circumstances in life purely coincidental, or are our choices one that culminate either misery or happiness? Many, many bands these days can create wonderful sounding songs. What makes band great are those that can create both amazingly sounding songs and those whose lyrics really do make an impact on the listener. So far NIGHT OWLS has both of those components which provides for a promising future for the trio from Leeds.

NIGHT OWLS are William Pollard (bass/vocals), Liam Waddell (guitar), and Dominic Reed (drums).

“Tragically Human” is the title single from the trio’s forthcoming EP, Tragically Human. The band’s theme for the EP is “attempting to discuss everyday mistakes and our tendency towards self destructive behaviour as a species.”

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...