The Matinee ’18 October 29th includes six awesome new tracks for your listening pleasure. It’s the perfect kick off to another fall week. Artists are representing the US and The UK today. We hope you find your new favorite song or band.

AMETHYSTS – “How It Is” (London, England)

RIYL: Dahlia Sleeps, Cults, Meadowlark

AMETHYSTS are back with a new track titled “How It Is”. The single by the duo is another slice of ambient pop perfection. The single is filled with laid back beats and the intoxicating vocals of singer Clarice. The track is a perfect one to spin while getting ready for your upcoming weekend, or if you just need an uplift in mood. Even though the title of the track speaks to a negative saying, the overall tone is turned in a positive direction.

AMETHYSTS share about their newest release: “‘That’s just how it is’ is a phrase that’s thrown around all too easily. You can’t manifest anything positive with negativity. Everything can be changed, anything can be the way you want it to be, if you truly believe in yourself and do something about it. How It Is explores modern life struggles, stigmas and tackling self doubt”.

“How It Is” was produced by Shuta Shinoda (Daughter, Ghostpoet) and is available now on all streaming platforms.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


bdrmm – “C:U” (Hull, England)

RIYL: Slowdive, DIIV, Beach Fossils

bdrmm have a new track title “C:U”. It’s filled with an amazing wall of sound similar to the likes of Slowdive and DIIV. It’s filled with awe inspiring shoegaze that takes you to another place for a little over 4 minutes. The single also reminds a bit of The Cure as the song begins with those impressive jangly guitar riffs. The overall sound is dream pop perfection and if bdrmm isn’t already added to your list of modern day shoegaze bands, they need to be.

Singer Ryan Smith shares a bit about their newest single: ‘I wrote C.U during a pretty ‘eventful’ time in my life. a lot of feelings hurt, vivid anxiety and things lost, this track has been a long time coming.’

bdrmm are Ryan Smith (vocals/guitar), Jordan Smith (bass), Joe Vickers (guitar), Daniel Hull (synth/backing vocals), and Aaron Moreton (drums).

“C:U” was produced by Alex Greaves at The Nave and is released via Permanent Creeps.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


BLOXX – “Monday” (London, England)

RIYL: High Tyde, Marsicans, Stereo Honey

“Monday” is the newest track from London quartet BLOXX. Ironically, “Monday” is the perfect track to spin today. The single delivers an exciting dose of power packed indie pop.  The DIY from London released “Monday” last month so we are a little late to the party. They did however share a pretty cool video to go along with the track. The quartet definitely have what it takes to make a worldwide impact with their tight blend of indie pop/rock.

BLOXX share about about “Monday”: “We think ‘Monday’ might be the track we’ve poured the most into, we tried to make it a statement for where we are heading as a band.”

“Monday” is the first single off of the band’s forthcoming EP which will be released via Chess Club Records.

BLOXX are Ophelia – guitar and vocals, Taz – lead guitar and backing vocals, Mozwin – drums, and Paul – bass.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Niki Black – “Not Coming Up” (Los Angeles, USA)


Niki Black was born and raised in Los Angeles and her heritage is Iranian-American. She began playing piano at age 4 and began writing her own music at 15.

“Not Coming Up” is filled with fierce yet angelic vocals as the lyrics speak to acceptance no matter who you are. The beats provide an intoxicating atmosphere and we are introduced to an artist with the potential to breakout in the synth pop arena much like BANKS and Lorde have.

Niki shares about her newest release: “I wanted to retell that descent from a modern feminine perspective, one of the damned, which some of us may feel like sometimes, or all the time….whether it’s from religion directly, from a relationship, or from yourself.”

“Not Coming Up” is from Niki Black’s forthcoming EP mirrors.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


pizzagirl – “body part” (Liverpool, England)

RIYL: Westerman, Phil Collins, King Krule

“body part” is the newest offering from pizzagirl. It’s another clever single that keeps the listener guessing what we will hear next from. pizzagirl is the project of Liam Brown and he continues to provide entertaining 80s inspired tracks that definitely leave an impression. So far each release from Mr. Brown includes a retro sound but always with a modern spin. The best thing about pizzagirl is his clever songwriting. This time he tackles a coming of age story that could be straight out of a John Hughes era movie.

The always entertaining quote from Mr. Brown describers the experience you’ll get from his newest track: “You’re scrolling on the World Wide Web and you reach but you click the wrong link and you’re virtually sucked into a dark, smoky, glitchy chatroom, where a badly rendered waitress serves you a beat pie by mistake, now your new CGI ears have accidentally downloaded my freshest tune, BODY PART!” .

Pizzagirl’s forthcoming EP, season 2, will be released via Heist or Hit on November 30th.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


White Room – “Shoot” (Brighton, England)

RIYL: Arctic Monkeys, POND, The Belligerents

“Shoot” is the newest single from Brighton quintet White Room. We have been following the band for a while now and their newest offering is quite stellar. The band spent the summer writing new material and will be following up on a tour supporting The Blinders.

On “Shoot” we hear a very tight and impressive sound as well as a vocal style that reminds a bit of David Byrne/Bryan Ferry or even Bowie. In a way it’s almost like listening to an entire re-invention of a band with their newest release and it’s pretty amazing. We hear so many new wave elements in this track which provides a grittier pop sound as well as a funk filled bassline. This is quite a directional change from their previous 60s inspired psych releases. The evolution of their sound is exciting and refreshing. Hopefully White Room will be releasing more new tracks from their recent writing sessions.

White Room are Jake Smallwood (vocals/synths), Jacob Newman (guitar), Tristan Sava (guitar/keys), Josie McNamara (bass), and Hen Sava (drums).

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...