The Matinee February 20th includes 6 new tracks to kick off your weekend. Whether you are observing a holiday today or working these six new tracks will get you moving. We have infectious indie rock, exciting electro pop, soulful roots music and dreamy shoegaze for your listening pleasure. We have a worldwide mix today with artists representing Australia, Canada, Norway, Scotland, Sweden and the US.

The Calm Fiasco – “Just Don’t Care Anymore” (Glasgow, Scotland)

RIYL: Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Two Door Cinema Club, The Walkmen

The Calm Fiasco have just released their second single “Just Don’t Care Anymore” from their upcoming release. The track is filled with awesome Glasgowian vocals from Mr. Morin, impressive guitar licks and basslines to provide an infectious and in your face indie rock track.

“Just Don’t Care Anymore” is from their forthcoming EP, Fear, which will be released March 24, 2017 via Chewy Records.

The Calm Fiasco are Del Morin (Lead Vocals/Guitar), Harry Fleming (Bass/Keys /Vocals), Andy McInnes  (Drums/Percussion), and Greg Totten (Lead Guitar).

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Emma Jensen – “Closer” (Oslo, Norway)

RIYL: Sigrid, Vérité, Elohim

Emma Jensen is making waves in the electro pop world. Her unique and mesmerizing vocals immediately draw the listener in. With infectious beats accented with a cool guitar riff midway through we have an impressive indietronica track in “Closer”.

It’s no surprise that in 3 days the track already has 30k plus spins. We have a feeling we will be hearing a lot more from Emma Jensen in the next year. She has the potential to break out in a big way.

Emma shares a bit about her newest release: “Closer” is about the feeling when you know you’re about to drift away from/loose someone, but you really want to hold on and let the person know that you’ll give it all to make things work.​

You can stream or purchase “Closer” here.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Emmecosta – “MIGUEL” (Gothenburg, Sweden via Positano, Italy)

RIYL: RKCB, Flora Cash, Men I Trust

“MIGUEL” is the newest track from the trio of Emmecosta, who are originally form Positano, Italy but have been living and creating music in Sweden for the past seven years. Their latest release is laid back and contagious. “MIGUEL” includes soothing vocals, subtle guitar riffs, prominent keys and pulsating percussion.

The trio share a bit about the meaning behind “MIGUEL”:

“Miguel” is a part of us that we have left in Italy. It’s the son, grown up, of our past. 
We look after him, we look at him, but from the North. 
The song is about Miguel, the exponential image of our roots.”

The single is out now via ICEA (Icons Creating Evil Art). Emmecosta are Alfonso Fusco, Aldo Axha, and Claudio Pallone.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


No Joy – “Hellhole” (Montreal, Canada & Los Angeles, USA)

RIYL: Frankie Rose, Cocteau Twins, Shana Falana

No Joy is back with a new track titled “Hellhole”. This time we hear dreamy shoegazey goodness from their latest effort. It’s apparent we are dealing with a very talented female led band that commands our attention . We are also loving the more prominent presentation of Jasamine White-Gluz’s vocals and the hint of new wave within the track.

We definitely have the No Joy on our list to see for SXSW this year and we are excited to hear which new directions their new EP will take.

The quartet’s new EP, Creed, drops February 24th via new label Grey Market.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter


Shukura Chapman – “Release Me” (Brisbane, Australia via New Plymouth, New Zealand)

RIYL: Rhiannan Giddens, Corinne Bailey Rae, Lianne la Havas

“Release Me” is the newest single from Shukura Chapman. The track is a mix of reggae, bluesy rock and soul complemented by Ms. Chapman’s sultry and commanding vocals.

Aside from her vocal talent, her songwriting is stellar and we have already previously proclaimed that ‘with such talent, Chapman’s popularity will likely soar soon, especially within Australia’s vibrant roots scene. Shortly thereafter, it should extend well overseas.’

“Release Me” is from Chapman’s latest EP, Rearview, which can be purchased on Bandcamp.

Website | Facebook | Instagram


Strange Familia – “Ms. Badblood” (Salt Lake City, USA)

RIYL: Nick Murphy, Jack Garrat, Lostboycrow

Strange Familia broke out onto the scene in 2015 with their debut single “Odes” which became a viral hit. They have since been self producing and writing their upcoming debut album. “Ms Badblood” is the first single from their upcoming release.

“Ms Badblood” totally gets your body moving. We have an eclectic mix of 80s beats, disco, funk and definite pop elements (we hear some Michael Jackson influences in there) and the track demands the touch of the repeat button.

We are looking forward to more tracks from Strange Familia in 2017.

Strange Familia is Brecken Jones and Garret Williams

Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...