A Deeper Sea was a nice surprise from Everything Everything. The band released the EP specifically for the first track, “The Mariana” which the band shared “we felt inspired to write a new song dealing with male identity and depression.” The lyrics state “Someone has to be the man”. The track is simple yet profound and adds another reason to love EE as they continue to present so many different versions of their unique musical style.

“Breadwinner” was actually released earlier and was originally written for A Fever Dream. The single is super punchy and energetic with Johnathan Higgs’ signature fast paced vocal style. We are then gifted with a super club ready remix of “Ivory Tower” from Tom Vek which brilliantly starts off with the stellar guitar riff and creates a track that feels rap inspired with a killer bass drop.

The final gift on the EP is from EE is an impressive cover of Neil Young’s “Don’t Let It Bring You Down” recorded Live at BBC Maida Vale. The best part of this cover begins halfway through as they go all out until the very end brings us all back down. The four tracks are perfect for the Everything Everything fan who needed to hear something new. Maybe this means with the release of a new track “Mariana” the band will be working  towards a new album in 2019?

A Deeper Sea is available on RCA Records.

For the complete list of our Favorite 20 EPs of 2018, click here.

Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Follow The Revue On...


Share This Article On...